District Strategy

District Strategic Ministry Plan PDF


Accepted at District Conference – April 6, 2019

VISION (what the future will bring)
The churches of the Crossroads District are actively and effectively involved in the mission field in their own neighborhoods, their own communities and beyond multiplying and maximizing the witness of Jesus Christ in the world.

MISSION Making disciples for Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.

VALUES (Congregational excellence and Clergy excellence in all we do)

  • Christlikeness
  • Excellence
  • Fruitfulness (through clergy and congregational leadership demonstrating the fruits of the spirit and disciple making)
  • Accountability
  • Collaboration


    1. PRAYER
      In order to help the churches of the Crossroads District move out into the mission field, We will undergird everything we do in prayer. We will encourage and strengthen the prayer lives of our congregations.
      In order to help the churches of the Crossroads District move out into the mission field, we will make room for the next generations as a way of life.
      In order to help the churches of the Crossroads District move out into the mission field, we will intentionally seek to encourage and develop our small churches.

The Crossroads District Strategy Team held a Visioning Retreat September 15-16, 2019 at Cathedral Oaks Worship & Retreat Center where they focused on the 3 priorities of Strategic Ministry Plan. 


*The District Superintendent is the KEY MISSIONAL STRATEGIST for the District intentionally assisted by the District Strategy Team. The Crossroads District Strategy Team plays a vital role in facilitating the movement of the church into the mission field. This team looks strategically at the District as a whole to develop new ideas and new responses to the unique challenges of the Crossroads District’s Mission Field.

District Strategy Team1. Looks at the district strategically with respect to outreach, ministry, and mission field connection. 
                                                                       2. Fulfills the board of Church Location and Building (¶ 2519

  • *Melanie Monroe – Hallettsville, Chair                                                                                         
  • Program Director                                                                Cindy Powell                                       
  • District Co-Lay Leaders                                                     Dale Alexander                                   
    Fritzi Simon                                         
  • Director Camp and Retreat Ministry                                  Pat Gideon                                           
  • District Prayer Coordinator                                                Dale Alexander                                   
  • Youth/Young person rep                                                     Ryan Jenson                                        
  • Robert Tripson – Victoria FUMC                                                                                                                                                 
  • Zettie Woodson – Victoria Webster Chapel, Building & Location Chair                                                                               
  • Richard Young – El Campo FUMC                                                                                                
  • Willie Mae Williams – La Grange St. James                                                                                
  • Jodi Fischer – Lockhart FUMC                                                                                                       
  • Cindy Layton – Smithville FUMC                                                                                                  
  • Melissa Lind, Seguin FUMC/TLU Rep                                                                                         
  • Will Durham – United Campus Ministry Victoria                                                                                                                       
  • Wade Powell – Victoria FUMC                                                                                                                                                       
  • Clifton Stringer, Lockhart FUMC                                                                                   
  • District Superintendent                                                     Marcus Freeman                                                 
  • Ex Officio:  Admin Assistant                                            Ruth Lopez                                                          
  • UMM Representative – To Be Elected
  • UMW Representative – Sara Ritchea


*Indicates Existing Chairs, committee chairs are elected at first meeting as per discipline.